Best Plate of 2010: New Mexico

Official press release


ALPCA members' votes will determine which state, province or territory will win this year's top honor. Since 1970, ALPCA has conducted the Best Plate Award competition annually. It is open to plates from the United States, Canada, and their territories.

Alabama American Samoa Arizona Illinois Maryland Montana New Mexico Northwest Territories New York Oregon Rhode Island Virginia


ALPCA is celebrating the 40th anniversary of the Best Plate Award Program with a record number of nominations. A total of 12 eligible new plates were nominated. Six of these are new general issues from America Samoa, Maryland (War of 1812), Montana (Treasure State), New Mexico (Centennial), New York (Empire Gold) and Northwest Territories (Spectacular). The other 7 are optional, extra-cost special plates which include Alabama redesigned Legacy (environmental), Arizona Conserving Wildlife, Illinois Chicago Blackhawks, Oregon Pacific Wonderland, Rhode Island Plum Beach Lighthouse and Virginia Northern Neck. Seven of these plates have little or no graphics with a retro look while the others are full graphic plates. While last years 10 entries included only 1 embossed plate, the majority of this years contestants are embossed. The New Mexico Farm and Ranch Museum plate was also nominated but not eligible since only 1 plate per state is allowed, the Centennial general issue prevailed.

This is the one event for which ALPCA can generate significant positive publicity at all levels for our organization and foster goodwill with Motor Vehicle Departments of the State/Provincial/Territorial Government offices. Also many of these agencies donate license plates to our organization that are auctioned at the annual convention each year.


Candidates are selected based upon nominations submitted by ALPCA members, who are asked to consider both the attractiveness and legibility of new designs. As in the past, ALPCA will honor the one jurisdiction that members feel issued the best plate, whether a general issue of special optional issue.


You may vote for up to 3 plates. The criterion for judging is based on legibility and attractiveness. Each first, second and third choices receive 5, 3 and 1 point respectively. Please complete and return the ballot enclosed in your recent issue of PLATES Magazine. Please be sure to number your first, second and third choices. (Voting for a second and third choice is optional.) As a convenience you may instead email this information to BESTPL8@YAHOO.COM but you must include your name, ALPCA #, email address and the name of the states for your first, second and third choices along with any comments. Ballots must be received by March 4, 2011 in order to be counted. Your participation is critical to the success of the program. PLEASE VOTE!!


The winner and runner-ups will be announced in the subsequent issue of PLATES Magazine. ALPCA will then present the award to the winning jurisdiction at a special ceremony.


Thanks to everyone that nominated any plates and/or supplied photos including Ronald Nelson #275, Michael Kaelin #985, Scott Broady #2979, George Balsamo #3562, John Kelly #3883, Phil White #4379, Clark Wothe #6191, Billy Moore #7490, Deron Shady #8901, Fred Schmidt #9005, Tom Castelli #9101, Sergio La Camera #9354, Brian Sawyer #9571, Ralph Lindken #9617, Dan Steele #9769, William Jerry Carey #9839, Jason DeCesare #9886, Jesse Wodstrchill #10983, and Jeff Poulton #11112.

Don't forget to vote!